fbpx

Understanding of Delaware’s DUI laws after an accident involving a Drunk Driver.

By March 15, 2016Uncategorized

      I received a frantic call from my sister at night who was at a light on a major highway in New Castle last week stating she was on a 'bad car accident'.  My first thought was she alright?  Was there EMS and police there at the scene.  I hurried up and got dressed and flew down the road.  When I got to the scene of the accident there were: police, EMS, the DNREC crew on the side of the road with lights flaring.  Once I spotted my sister's car, I ran over to her car and asked the paramedics what had happened?  
They told me that she was hit by a Drunk Driver!   

Few things I learned about Drunk Driving Laws in Delaware.  


Delaware DUI Laws:

Published by NOLO

4th Offense
Jail
Max. 6 months
2 to 18 months
1 to 2 years
2 to 5 years
Fines and Penalties
$500 to $1,500
$750 to $2,500
$1,500 to $5,000
$3,000 to $7,000
License Suspension
12 to 24 months
24 to 30 months
24 to 36 months
60 months
IID** Required
No
Possible - after 24 months
                                                     http://dui.drivinglaws.org/delaware.php
Car Rear Ended
        How much you can drink and legally drive will be different every time you go out because how your body responds to alcohol depends on many things. Factors such as the food you ate that day, how the drink is mixed, your physical activity, your physical health and the pace you consume your drinks will all affect your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC).  In Delaware, it is illegal to drive if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% (or the presence of any illegal or legal drug sufficient to charge you with a DUI).  Click on  www.webmd.com for more information.

Drink Repsonsibly and always have a Designated Driver.
All the Best, Dr. Nina

Leave a Reply